#EduChat, 2013 to 2014, Gifted Education, Just thinking, Teacher Evaluation, Using Data in the Classroom

Video: Susan Kimball, Kindergarten Teacher: Too Much Assessing and Not Enough Teaching Under Common Core

Wow! The video is tough to watch because you can hear the teacher’s frustration and concern. I haven’t been opposed to the CCSS because I have only been back in the American classroom for the last 3 1/2 years – only 2 of which have been teaching literacy and now math.

Regardless of my thoughts, I am so thankful we live in a country were these conversations occur and there are Senators that listen to the people. I truly hope the teacher can go back to a position where she can enjoy teaching her students.

I still miss the influence of higher education that I felt was apparent in England.

I would really like to hear from them on the CCSS and more.

COMMON CORE

Susan Kimball, an elementary school teacher, testified to the legislature that:

In a professional development meeting inservice in November and at a faculty meeting in January, we were told in my building, and I quote: ‘Be careful about what you post on Facebook or talk about in public regarding Common Core.  Don’t say anything negative. It could affect your job.’

“So even though many teachers were hating the Common Core curriculum, they would not voice their opinon to anyone. So I began speaking out –trying to educate and inform anyone who was willing to listen.  When I turned in a personal day request to come to support the rally for House Bill 1490, I was asked by my principal, ‘Do you really want that in your personnel file?’ 

“And then I was bullied and ostracized by my administration, a few other teachers, and the president of the school board, and…

View original post 309 more words

What do you think?

