Future Problem Solvers… 3rd Training… 3 times does not feel like the ‘charm’

from FlFPS

Directing is: you’re overwhelmed the whole time. Your mind never stops. If you care about it. You wake up in the morning and you begin thinking about it and then you go to sleep at night and you’re still thinking about it.
Campbell Scott  Read more:http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/overwhelmed.html#ixzz1npTF65gd

I guess I am in the directing seat… setting up a team…leading it…working with something new and creative.  It’s tough.  I find it difficult to do things part way. Right now though I still don’t feel like I have a good grasp on this… but I won’t from what the coaches say.  It will take time.  I need to be OK with that.  Allow myself to be a learner…

 

Alright, I have the book…………….ugh……this is a lot of data and reading and info.  I wish I could upload it to my NOOK.  That would make it better !  🙂

 

This is such a tough competition.  It will be OK though.  Some of the students that have expressed an interest really understand that this will be a learning experience.  I’m excited because I taught them in math last year and they are such fabulous thinkers.  I have been working to set the groundwork for FPS by using P4C – philosophy 4 children.  It’s a training I went to in England that I believe the Americans call Socratic thinking.

 

Anyhow…my 5th grade is amazing!  For my professional growth plan (pgp) I am working to develop their creative problem solving…with is linked to Future Problem Solving.  So it works together.  I noticed that their thinking is very linked to school…I wonder if it is because they are in school.  I have done some P4C with a boy looking up and a picture of my son at 2!  It was funny.  The boy though…a lot had thoughts linked to education.  For my son…he was driving a carnival car..they were pretty unique.

 

I wonder how I am going to encourage my FPS students to pull in all the categories and approaches?

 

I’m a little overwhelmed…. ok…maybe more than a little.

Yes...I feel a little wacky...a little unsure...

 

FPS does like to Florida’s Framework for the Gifted… I wonder if I can integrate this into my planning… I feel like it’s too structured for my regular classes and not sure how I would approach it because we are solidly integrating  DaVinci Math and they seem to enjoy that…

http://www.flfpsp.org/forms/FPS_And_Frameworks.pdf

 

What do you think?

