Florida Education, Planning, Teacher Evaluation

Fl Standards in student speak, why bother?

Have you ever read through the standards for Florida or any other state? How about England? They communicate, usually, the objectives or outcomes a student should attain by the time they leave the year/grade.

Something I learned, and loved, when I was over in England was working solidly from standards rather than publishing materials. Truthfully, we didn’t use much prescribed publishing materials and it was rare to find a teacher’s manual. Much different than in the Florida. I could sit at my desk and surround myself in manuals if I wanted.
What do you think?

